People Highlighted

Ding Lieyun

Academician of CAS

Ding Lieyun was born in Honghu, Hubei Province in December, 1955.

He is a professor in School of Civil Engineering and Mechanics, Ph.D instructor, Party member of  CPC and member of the 12th national committee of CPPCC.

In 2015, he was elected academican of CAE.

Professor Ding graduated from Wuhan Building Material Industry Institute in 1982 and then obtained his master’s degree in industrial management engineering from Wuhan Institute of Technology in 1987 and Ph.D in management science and engineering from Tongji University in 2002.

He was once the secretary of the Party committee and dean of Wuhan Institute of Urban Construction, vice president of HUST, secretary of the Party committee of Huazhong Normal University and Northeastern University. Currently he is the president of HUST, the director of engineering management research branch of the Architectural Society of China, associate director of department of management in Science and Technology Commission of Ministry of Education, director of engineering management major assessment committee of Ministry of Housing and Urban Rural Development.

For a long time, President Ding has been devoted to the research on the informatization of engineering management and safety risk management, with a focus on solving the problem of recognition, prevention and control of safety risk in metro construction engineering. He put forward the energy coupling theory of metro construction engineering system safety, established a technological system of  recognition, prevention and control of safety risk, as well as an integrated management model of safety risk based on BIM.

His research achievements are successfully applied in multiple metro construction engineerings of China, and their application is extended to other civil construction engineerings, making important contributions to the enhancement of safety risk management level in engineering construction.

As the first accomplisher, he was awarded 2 National Second Prizes for Science & Technology Progress, 4 Provincial and Ministerial First Prize for Science & Technology progress. He is the editor of one national standard and published 2 famous works, one national excellent textbook and nearly 100 acadmeic papers.